Thursday, 14 June 2012

Aibisidh Shortlisted for £30,000 Literary Award

Polygon is delighted to announce that Angus Peter Campbell has been shortlisted for the Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust Book of the Year Award 2012. Angus Peter’s collection Aibisidh won the poetry prize, worth £5000, and now joins the shortlist for the £30,000 award.

‘I am delighted to have won this major poetry award from what really was a tremendous shortlist,’ said Angus Peter. ‘Best if I could dedicate it to our greatest living Gaelic poet, Donald MacAulay, who not only encouraged me personally at the very beginning of my career but whose parallaxes have helped me navigate the skerries since. Nuair a sheatlaigeas a’ mhòine,‘s e an luimead a dhealras.’

Aibisidh was described by Tom Pow, one fo the judges of the 2012 Awards, as 'an unusually rich, coherent and emotionally satisfying collection'.

The shortlist for the Award is:
Fiction: Ali Smith, There but for the (Hamish Hamilton)
Non-Fiction: Janice Galloway, All Made Up (Granta)
Poetry: Angus Peter Campbell, Aibisidh (Polygon)
First Book: Simon Stephenson, Let Not the Waves of the Sea (John Murray)

The winner, chosen by public vote will be announced at an event at the Edinburgh International Book Festival on Friday the 17th of August. To cast your vote click here. Voting closes on midnight on Monday the 6th of August. 

Congratulations to Angus Peter from everyone at Polygon!